LEHMAN COLLEGE

City University of New York
Minutes of Meeting
Senate Governance Committee
26 November 2008
Shuster 179, 4 pm

Present: David Afrani, Rosalind Carey, Jason Jeremias, Jim Jervis, Ayesha Lewis, Marie Marianetti, Manfred Philipp, Justin Simmons, Duane Tananbaum, and Vincent Zuchetto.

- 1. A motion to approve the minutes of November 5, 2008 seconded and approved.
- 2. After clarifying that Robert Valentine had been elected last year to replace Heather Sloan on the Academic Freedom committee, the Governance committee decided to nominate Emine Kayaalp and Chuck Woolridge to the Committee on Library, Information, and Technology.
- 3. On the issue of the rapidly increasing size of the Senate, the committee discussed various options ranging from counting only senior administrators as members to adopting fixed numbers of administrators, faculty and students in place of the current method based on a ratio of these groups. The committee also discussed how to categorize HEOs and whether a Gittleson member serves any purpose. Senates of different sizes and compositions were considered but no agreement was reached as to a recommendation to make to the senate, and the committee decided to invite College Counsel Esdras Tulier to its next meeting for further discussion.
- 4. The committee discussed aligning the Lehman College Governance documents with the CUNY Bylaws so as to allow no more than one untenured faculty member on departmental P&B committees, except in cases where the departments have insufficient numbers of tenured faculty. The need for student representatives on these committees was also noted. Finally, the governance committee discussed making the administrative representatives on committees voting members of those committees.
- 5. Meeting adjourned. Next meeting of the Governance Committee: 1/26/09 at 3:30pm, room to be determined.