LEHMAN COLLEGE

City University of New York
Minutes of Meeting
Senate Governance Committee
03 October 2007
Shuster 179, 4 pm

Present: Duane Tananbaum, Manfred Philipp, Rosalind Carey, Vincent Zucchetto, Marie Marianetti, and Nusrat Choudhury.

- 1. Duane Tananbaum was nominated chair of the Governance Committee and Rosalind Carey, secretary; both nominations were seconded and approved by general acclamation.
- 2. A motion was passed to nominate John Figueroa and Valerie Veredejo student members of the Library, Technology and Telecommunications Committee at the next meeting of the Faculty Senate.
- 3. A motion was passed to present the following resolution at the next meeting of the Faculty Senate: "Whenever the chair of the Faculty Executive Council or the chair of the Lehman College Senate is already a member of the Council of Faculty Governance Leaders, be it resolved that the chair of the Lehman College Governance Committee be designated as an additional Lehman College representative to the Council of Faculty Governance Leaders."
- 4. New business: (a) A resolution on the detrimental consequences of the university's use of the language of tiering to describe senior colleges, including Lehman. (b) A resolution on the importance of bringing active American involvement in the war in Iraq to an end.
- 5. Meeting adjourned. Next meeting of the Governance Committee: Thursday, 10/18/07, place and time TBD. [Next meeting: 10/25/07 in Shuster 179 at 10:00 am.]