LEHMAN COLLEGE

City University of New York
Minutes of Meeting
Senate Governance Committee
30 September 2009
Music 313, 2:30 pm

Present: Duane Adams, Hyacinth Bouzalakos, Rosalind Carey, Jim Jervis, Marie Marianetti, Manfred Philipp, Joann Ruiz, Duane Tananbaum, Vincent Zucchetto.

- 1. Minutes from the Governance Committee meetings of 1 May 2009 and 26 May 2009 were approved.
- 2. Professor Tananbaum was re-elected Chair of the Governance Committee and Professor Carey was re-elected as Secretary.
- 3. Given the presence of 3 new administrators in the Senate by virtue of their positions as Assistant V.P. for Institutional Advancement and Associate Deans of Arts and Humanities and Natural and Social Sciences, it is necessary to add 9 new faculty members to the Senate. After reviewing the results from last spring's election, it was determined that Professors Bullaro, Fletcher, Happaney, Jitanu, Maxim, Ricourt, Sailor, and Sloan would fill 8 of those seats. One more senator is needed from Category B to fill the ninth seat. Professor Tananbaum and Mr. Zucchetto will look for the nomination lists to see if any other faculty from Category B were nominated last spring.
- 4. The Committee discussed the issues it wanted to focus on this year, which included improved communications, the marginalization of the Senate, and further changes to the Bylaws and Governance Documents.
- 5. Professor Philipp suggested that the Senate should have access to agenda and minutes of meetings of the Faculty Personnel and Budget Committee, with the understanding that confidential material would be removed. This matter will be discussed further at the next meeting.
- 6. The Governance Committee will meet again on Wednesday, 10/14 at 2:00 in a room TBA. Professor Mineka will be invited to join us at 2:30 to discuss his resolution on straw ballots that was referred to the Governance Committee.

Respectfully Submitted,

Duane Tananbaum, Chair