LEHMAN COLLEGE

City University of New York
Minutes of Meeting
Senate Governance Committee
1 May 2009
Library, 3rd floor, 3:00 pm

Present: Rosalind Carey, Jason Jeremias, Marie Marianetti, Manfred Philipp, Duane Tananbaum (chair), and Vincent Zuchetto.

- 1. The committee determined that the new members of the Library, Technology and Telecommunications sub-committee are: James Carney (JC), Susan Markens (SOC), and William Wooldridge (HIS). The senate nominated the following list of individuals (from which the president selects three) for the Lehman College Association: Maryam Bamshad (BIO), Andrea Boyar (HS), Grace Bullaro (ENG), Vassilios Gargalas (ECON), David Manier (PSY), Amanda Wunder (HIS).
- 2. From the recent Senator at-large nomination results, the governance committee composed a list of 78 faculty members, out of which 39 Senators at-large will be elected, by selecting the most frequently nominated individuals and adhering to the percentage needed from categories A and B, the Higher Education Officers (HEOS), and so forth.
- 3. Reviewing the proposed changes to the college governance documents, the committee decided to add the words "at the time of election" to the end of the phrase "..., Group B, consisting of all assistant professors without tenure"
- 4. The committee discussed the recently tabled resolution on the PSC award process, the central administration's proposal to limit chair's terms, and the newly drafted policies on sexual harassment and on student drinking, deciding to forward these two policies to the committee on Campus Life and Facilities.
- 5. It was recommended that in the monthly emails to faculty that include links to the online senate agenda, the link should be directly to the agenda, not to some more general page, and that the link should be to the whole contents cover page, reports, etc. saved together in one pdf. It was noted that the minutes of the several senate meetings have not yet been uploaded to the college website.