LEHMAN COLLEGE

City University of New York Minutes of Meeting Senate Governance Committee 22 April 2010 Carman 201, 9:15 am

Present: Duane Adams, Rosalind Carey, Jim Jervis, Marie Marianetti, Manfred Philipp, Duane Tananbaum (Chair), and Vincent Zucchetto.

- 1. A motion to approve the minutes of 4/10/10 was seconded and approved.
- 2. Carman Esteves and Ira Bloom declined the nomination to Ombudsman; Alicia Georges and Donna Kirchheimer did not respond. The committee decided to present the remaining names on the list (Dauben, Kayaalp, Phelps, Bernstein) to the Senate. A motion to resolve that there be an election by the Senate of two from this list (and any other candidates nominated from the floor), preceded by an account of the precedent, passed unanimously.
- 3. On the issue of the divisional curriculum committees, Janet De Simone conveys that the Graduate Curriculum Committee has agreed to reschedule a meeting with the provost in the fall.
- 4. A discussion of the procedures for choosing a director for the Honors College was tabled.
- 5. From the list of nominees to the standing committees of the Senate the Governance Committee selected the names listed below. Names were also selected for the Lehman College Assoc. Corp. and the Auxiliary Enterprises Corp.:

CAF Michael Buckley (PHIL) Naomi Spence (SOC)	CAEAS Amanda Gulla (MHSE) David Rothchild (M/CS) Elin Waring (SOC)	CB&LRP Hai-Ping Cheng (BIO) Vassilios Gargalas (ECO/BUS) Pamela Ginex (NUR)
CLTT Eleanor Campbell (NUR) Kofi Benefo (SW) I. Harushimana (MHSE)	CCL&F Jacqueline Aquilino (SLHS) Debra Faison (ECO/BUS) Carol Gross (ECCE)	CUC Alice Akan (NUR) Serigne Gningue (MHSE) Barbara Jacobsen (SOC)
CGS Grace Bullaro (ENG) Angela Kelly (MHSE) Angelo Lebron (ECO/BUS)	LCA Corp. Andrea Boyar (HS) Grace Bullaro (ENG) Joy Greenberg (SW) David Manier (PSY) Carol Mazza (SW) Penny Prince (MUS) Xavier Totti (LAT/PR)	AE Corp. Alan Hollander (MUS)

- 6. The Chair noted that he is waiting to hear from College Counsel Es Tullier concerning the process of choosing Honorary Degree recipients.
- 7. The meeting was adjourned at 10:45 pm. The next meeting is scheduled for 4/22/10 at 9:15 in CA 201.

Respectfully submitted,

Rosalind Carey