LEHMAN COLLEGE City University of New York Minutes of Meeting Senate Governance Committee 21 April 2009 Shuster 336, 4:35 pm

Present: Rosalind Carey, Jason Jeremias, Jim Jervis, Ayesha Lewis, Marie Marianetti, Manfred Philipp, Joann Ruiz, Justin Simmons, Duane Tananbaum (chair), Angel Vitiello, and Vincent Zuchetto.

- 1. Motion to approve the minutes of 2/24/09 and 3/25/09 were seconded and approved.
- 2. For the College Association Corporation the committee nominated the following six people (from which the president chooses three): Andrea Boyar (HS), Grace Bullaro (ENG), David Manier (PSY), Vassilios Gargalas (ECON), Roman Muchnik (MCS), Amanda Wunder (HIS).
- 3. The following people were nominated to Auxiliary Enterprises Corporation: Alan Hollander (MUS), Richard Blot (JCT), and Thomas O'Hanlon (JCT).
- 4. Regarding nominees to bring to the Senate for election to the senate subcommittees, the governance committee added Andrei Jitianu (CHEM) to the list of names for Admissions, Evaluations and Mario Gonzalez-Corzo (ECOB) to the list for the Academic Freedom Committee.
- 5. On the issue of VC Gillian Small's proposal to change the present method of allocating PSC research award monies, the committee drafted the following resolution to bring before the Senate:

Resolved: the Lehman College Senate recommends that the organization and structure of the PSC award program not be changed.

- 6. The chair reminded the committee of his intention to again send letters to chairs for information on how students are involved in departmental P&B committees.
- 7. Meeting adjourned. Next meeting: 5/1/09 at 3pm place TBA