## LEHMAN COLLEGE

City University of New York
Minutes of Meeting
Senate Governance Committee
27 March 2008, Shuster 179, 2:00 pm

Present: David Afrani, Rosalind Carey, Nusrat Choudhury, Jason Jeremias, James Jervis, Marie Marianetti, Manfred Philipp, Justin Simmons, Duane Tananbaum (Chair), Angel Vitiello (observer), Esdras Tulier, and Vincent Zucchetto.

- 1. Motion to approve the minutes of February 21, 2008 seconded and approved.
- 2. After hearing legal counsel address the administration's prerogative and discussing whether article 1.3b of the Governance Document gives the Senate the right to take an advisory role in such matters as the Bell Schedule, the committee moved but failed to carry the following:

Whereas article 1, section 3b of the Lehman College Governance Document states that the legislative function of the Senate includes "to take such other recommending actions as the Senate may wish," therefore be it resolved that the Lehman College Senate, as the body in which students, faculty, and administration are represented, be afforded the opportunity to advise formally on any future changes in the Bell Schedule before a final determination is made.

- 3. The committee moved to forward the proposal for a plant sciences center to the committee on graduate studies. Motion seconded and approved.
- 4. On the basis of the nominations received, the nominees for Senate committees are:

Academic Freedom Committee: Jessica Shiller (MHSE), Michael Buckley (PHI)

Admissions, Evaluation, and AS: David Rothchild (MCS), Xavier Totti (LAPRS), Amanda Gulla (MHSE)

**Budget and Long-Range Planning:** Haiping Cheng (BIO), Janet Munch (LIB), Vassilios Gargalas (EA)

**Library, Technology and Telecommunications:** David Fletcher (MHSE), Eleanor Cambell (NUR), Imaculee Harashimana (MHSE)

**Campus Life and Facilities:** Elhum Haghighat (SSW), Wesley Pitts (MHSE), Raymond Flook (Campus Life)

**Undergraduate Curriculum:** Barbara Jacobsen (SSW), Alice Akan (NUR), David Hyman (MHSE)

**Graduate Studies:** Timothy Alborn (HIS), Janet Desimone (SPEC.ED), C. Alicia Georges (NUR)

- 6. The committee agreed to nominate John Figueroa as a student representative to the committee on campus life and facilities.
- 7. For the Lehman College Association for Campus Activities Corporation the committee nominated Mario Gonzalez Corzo, Judith Dunker, and Corrie Decker as well as current members Andrea Boyar, David Manier, and Grace Bullaro. For the Lehman College Auxiliaries Enterprises Corporation it nominated Daniel Bautista as well as current member Richard Blot.

Respectfully submitted,

Rosalind Carey