LEHMAN COLLEGE City University of New York Minutes of Meeting Senate Governance Committee 28 January 2008

Present: Rosalind Carey, Nusrat Choudhury, James Jervis, Marie Marianetti, Duane Tananbaum (Chair), and Vincent Zucchetto.

1. The committee determined that given the new administrative roles, the membership of the senate must be increased by seven faculty members - five from group A and 2 from group B - and by four students. In order, the names of faculty eligible to become senators at large are:

Group A

(1) Julie Maybee (Philosophy); (2) Eric Delson (Anthropology); (3) Ira Bloom (Political Science); (4) Joseph Dauben (History); (5) Patricio Lerzundi (Langs & Lits); (6) Liesl Jones (Biology); (7) Janet Munch (Library)

Group B

(1) Rosalind Carey (Philosophy); (2) Sheldon Ornstein (Nursing); Barbara Schroder (Middle and HS Ed); (4) Amanda Gulla (Literacy Studies)

The four additional student members of the senate will be determined by election at the next meeting of the students.

- 2. It was noted that Salita Bryant is now departmental representative for English and that the governance committee needs to replace the graduating Alfred Dominguez with another student representative.
- 3. The committee decided to begin the process of committee elections.
- 4. The next regular meeting of the Governance Committee will be 2/21/08 at 2:00 pm in Shuster 179.

Respectfully submitted, Rosalind Carey