MINUTES Graduate Studies Committee October 20, 2010

Present: Dean Eldridge; Professors Bullaro, DeSimone, Smith Gabig, Georges; Ms. Worth, Director of Graduate Studies

- Prof. DeSimone called the meeting to order at 11 a.m.
- The committee approved the minutes from the meeting of September 22, 2010.
- One committee member raised the issue of how the president of SUNY Albany issued a directive (this month) to suspend all new admissions to five program areas Classics, French, Italian, Russian and Theatre, since he claimed that there were not many students in these programs by comparison to other programs. The committee briefly discussed this topic and some members expressed concern over the possibility that CUNY may make similar decisions as a way to decrease budget.
- The committee also discussed the inaccuracies of Lehman's various sources of program information (e.g., online bulletin, print bulletin, SIMS, state records). The committee plans to have a follow-up discussion on this issue during the next meeting.
- In the absence of a quorum, the committee agreed to send the following proposals to the Senate for approval:

Department of Speech-Language-Hearing Sciences

- Change to MA program in speech-language pathology (admission and degree requirements)
- Change to SPE 727 (course description and prerequisite)
- Change to SPE 734 (credit hours)
- The committee also approved the following informational item:

<u>Department of Languages and Literatures and Department of Middle and High School Education</u>

- Change in department of programs Spanish Teacher (7-12) and Spanish Teacher, Grades 7-12 (Alternative Transitional B Certification), currently housed in the Department of Languages and Literatures, will be moved to the Department of Middle and High School Education.
- The meeting adjourned at 11:55 a.m.

- The next meeting of the graduate studies committee is Monday, November 22 at 11 a.m. in Carman, B33A.
- Let it be noted that although Prof. Lebbon was not able to attend the meeting, she did provide Prof. DeSimone with constructive feedback on the proposals.

Respectfully submitted,

Janet R. DeSimone, Chair