## LEHMAN COLLEGE, City University of New York Senate Governance Committee 25 January 2017, 1:00 p.m. CA 201

Present: Donald Garcia Dwyer, Joseph Fera, Leonora Gocaj, Jose Magdaleno, Marie Marianetti, Duane Tananbaum (Chair), Suzanne Yates

1. The committee agreed to propose the following amendment to the Lehman College Governance Documents (new language is underlined):

## I:C:2 Administration Representatives

The President, Vice-Presidents, and Full Deans, shall be members of the Senate with full voting and floor rights. Prior to the first Senate meeting of the academic year, the President shall appoint additional administration representatives for one year terms with full voting and floor rights so that the total number of administrators in the Senate, including ex -officio representatives, shall equal twelve. If the President, the Vice Presidents, and the Full Deans total more than twelve, the President shall designate prior to the first Senate meeting of the academic year which twelve of them shall serve as administration representatives for the year.

2. The committee agreed to propose the following amendment to the Lehman College Senate Bylaws:

## Article II: Section 5 Vacancies and Replacements

When Senators-at-large, members of Senate committees, and departmental representatives to the Senate are elected, they shall be notified that if they go on leave during their term of office, they will be considered to have resigned from the Senate or the Senate committee unless they inform the chair of the Governance Committee that they will continue to attend meetings and fulfill their responsibilities as a Senator or committee member.

In the case of a departmental representative, the department shall elect a replacement to serve for the remainder of the term of office to which the original representative had been elected. In the case of a Senator-at-large or a Senate committee member, the vacancy in the Senate or on the committee shall be filled in the usual manner, with the new Senator or committee member serving for the remainder of the term of office to which the original Senator-at-large or committee member had been elected.

3. The committee agreed to nominate Marcello Di Bello (Philosophy) to fill the vacancy on the Undergraduate Curriculum Committee. (Prof. Di Bello subsequently declined the nomination).

Respectfully submitted, Duane Tananbaum