LEHMAN COLLEGE ACADEMIC FREEDOM COMMITTEE

Minutes of the Committee Meeting Held on November 2, 2015 3:30-4:30 p.m. Shuster Hall 336

Current Members of the Academic Freedom Committee include: <u>*Faculty:*</u> Michael Buckley (Philosophy); Peter Alexanderson (Economics and Business); Donna McGregor (Chemistry); Brigitte Cypress (Nursing); Matthew Johnson (Mathematics); Davina Porock (Vice Provost for Academic Personnel) <u>Student Members:</u> Angelica Rivera (Student Senator) Jacqueline Muallem (Student Senator); Danny Benakazar

Members in Attendance on November 2, 2015:

Michael Buckley (Philosophy) Peter Alexanderson (Economics and Business) Donna McGregor (Chemistry) Davina Porock (Vice Provost for Academic Personnel) Angelica Rivera (Student Senator) Jacqueline Muallem (Student Senator)

Meeting Agenda:

- Election of New Committee Chair
- Election of New Committee Secretary
- Assignment of Minutes Recorder
- Scheduling of Standing Committee meeting time and date
- Other Business

Minutes of the Meeting

Election of Committee Chair

No members of the committee were able to accept a nomination to act as Chair of the Academic Freedom Committee.

Resolution: VP Porock will remain the convener and minute taker of the committee for this academic year or until an issue of academic freedom arises where the committee needs to take action.

Other business

Discussion ensued about the work of the committee over the remainder of the academic year. No issues of academic freedom have been brought to the committee's attention. Therefore the committee resolved to meet as necessary. Dr. Porock will check on the required number of meetings for a standing senate committee.

A question of the elected membership of the committee was raised. Resolution was for Dr. Porock to check membership and report back to the group

There being no other business. M. Buckley moved and A. Rivera seconded that the meeting be adjourned.

Post Script

D. Porock discussed the two outstanding issues with Dr. Tannenbaum, Chair of the Lehman Faculty Senate: The committee must meet once per semester. D. Porock will call a meeting in the spring semester.

Elected membership for the Academic Freedom Committee per the Senate webpage is:

Academic Freedom

Faculty	Departmen	t Appointment Date
Prof. Peter Alexanderson	ECO/BUS	06/14 - 06/16
Prof. Michael Buckley	PHI	06/14 - 06/16
Prof. Brigette Cypress	NUR	06/15 - 06//17
Prof. Matthew Johnson	M/CS	06/15 - 06/17
Prof. Donna McGregor	CHE	06/15 - 06/17

Administrative Representative

Dr. Davina Porock Vice Provost for Academic Personnel

Students

Danny Benakazar Jackie Muallem Angelica Rivera