## LEHMAN COLLEGE ACADEMIC FREEDOM COMMITTEE

Minutes of the Meeting Held on September 21, 2015, 3:30-4:30p.m., Carman Hall 201

The Academic Freedom Committee currently consists of the following members: Faculty- Peter Alexanderson (Economics & Business), Michael Buckley (Philosophy), Brigitte Cypress (Nursing), Donna McGregor (Chemistry), Matthew Johnson (Mathematics), and Davina Porock (Vice-Provost for Academic Personnel, Administrative Representative).

Outgoing Chair (no longer a member): Robert T. Valentine (History). Students- Angelica Rivera, Jacqueline Muallem.

## Minutes of the Meeting

Peter Alexanderson, Michael Buckley, Brigitte Cypress, Angelica Rivera and Robert T. Valentine attended the meeting held on Monday, September 21, 2015.

## Disposition of the Academic Freedom Committee

Since the terms of three faculty members of the committee expired in June, 2015 (Carmen Esteves, Mario Gonzalez-Corzo, and Robert T. Valentine), three new faculty members were elected to serve on the committee by the Lehman College Senate. Also, two new student members were likewise elected (as of September 16, 2015). A new Administrative Representative has been appointed to replace Sharon Freedberg.

The Lehman College Senate by-laws state that the outgoing chair must convene the next meeting of the committee, in order for it to organize itself. This was done on September 21, only half of the members were in attendance, the others having said they could not come. A discussion was held about the Academic Freedom Committee and its activities for the benefit of the new members.

However, no decision was reached pertaining to a new chair for the committee. With that, the meeting adjourned. This was duly reported to the Lehman College Senate Governance Committee.

## Post-Script

At the October 7, 2015 session of the Lehman College Senate, the outgoing chair presented the above-mentioned report and it was resolved that the new Administrative Representative, Davina Porock, would take over the committee and continue to facilitate its organization.

Next Meeting
To Be Announced.

Adieu, Respectfully submitted, Robert T. Valentine, (Outgoing) Chair