LEHMAN COLLEGE SENATE ACADEMIC FREEDOM COMMITTEE

Minutes of the Meeting Held on November 24, 2014, 3:30-4:30p.m., Carman Hall 201

The Academic Freedom Committee consists of the following members:
Faculty- Robert T. Valentine (History), Chair; Michael Buckley (Philosophy),
Carmen Esteves (Languages & Literature), Sharon Freedberg (Health Sciences,
administrative advisor), Mario Gonzalez-Corzo (Economics & Business); Peter
Alexanderson (Economics & Business, UFS Academic Freedom Committee liaison).
Students- Kwabena Danquah, Denise Escano, Kwaku Gyeabour, Nnamdi Okoro.

Minutes of the Meeting

Peter Alexanderson, Mario Gonzalez-Corzo, Sharon Freedberg and Robert T. Valentine attended the meeting held on Monday, November 24, 2014.

Academic Freedom Faculty Survey Results

We primarily discussed Professor Gonzalez-Corzo's fine synopsis of our survey results which will be presented to the Lehman College Senate for its December 10 meeting. The results compiled by professor Gonzalez-Corzo are a distillation of the detailed analysis of the "Academic Freedom faculty Survey Results, 2014" which were, in turn, based upon the survey responses received from April-October, 2014. Both reports were posted to the Lehman College Senate website and will also appear as agenda items for the upcoming senate meeting. Professors Gonzalez-Corzo and Valentine will present the results and answer questions at this meeting.

Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Academic Freedom Committee is (tentatively) scheduled for Wednesday, February 4, 2015 at 3:30p.m., Carman Hall Room 201 (*Note*- we may have to move to another location, since this room will be in constant use next semester).

Respectfully submitted, Robert T. Valentine, Chair